top of page

ELEVEN SONGS I CAN'T GET OUT OF MY HEAD

When it comes to music, I can be weird. I don't have a favorite genre, performer or group. Sometimes when a song is really popular, once it first comes out, I won't listen to it. I try not give into the hype. (Yes, I realize that sounds kind of hipster.) I'll eventually listen to it weeks, maybe even months, after it's released and fall in love.

You'll know I like a song when it goes through three phases: 1. I like the song so much that I have to play it nonstop to learn all of the words, so I can sing along. 2. I'll Listen to a million different covers of the song on YouTube, so I can fall in love with it more. and 3. I'll Play the song in my car as I'm driving. If I can imagine myself in a movie or music video with the song playing in the background, it's a winner.

I've compiled a list of 11 songs that I can't seem to get out of my head. NOTE: There are so many songs I'm obsessed with that aren't included on this list. These are just some current ones.

 

1. Say You Won't Let Go

James Arthur

I'll start off this list with a slow, pop jam. Coming from England, James Arthur debuted Say You Won't Let Go from his second studio album, Back from the Edge, in 2016. James begins this sweet serenade by telling the story of two people and how they became a couple, leading to a life of marriage and children. But this isn't your typical love song. We danced the night away, we drank too much / I held your hair back when / you were throwing up. This song doesn't just highlight the cute and adorable things all couples do. It also highlights gross ones. If you vomit and find someone who's not completely disgusted, you found a keeper. James strums along to his guitar throughout the entire song, and it sounds like you're listening to him play at an open mic night. Later on in the song, James sings, I'll wake you up with some breakfast in bed / I'll bring you coffee with a kiss on your head / I'll take the kids to school / Wave them goodbye. Talk about breaking gender norms! Overall, this is a sweet, soulful song, and I would recommend it to everyone.

 

2. Starving (feat. Zedd)

Hailee Steinfeld & Grey

All hail Hailee Steinfeld. Not only has she been killing it on the big screen in movies such as, Pitch Perfect 2 and The Edge of Seventeen, but Hailee has returned with yet another single. This time, she worked with Grey and Zedd to create Starving. Starving is the single you can just vibe to. The song is about meeting someone new and having them turn your world upside down and giving you a new outlook on life. Something inside me's changed / I was so much younger yesterday / I didn't know that I was starving til I tasted you / Don't need no butterflies when you give me the whole damn zoo. Based on this song, you can tell how mature Hailee has become. The upbeat tune reminds me of the importance of taking in life and looking at it from a different perspective. It's definitely a feel-good song.

 

3. Sweet Lovin'

Sigala (feat. Bryn Christopher)

Have you ever felt the need to have a mini rave? If you have, Sweet Lovin' the song for you. British musician Sigala partners with British singer Bryn Christopher for their second single, respectively. This song is a fast-paced single that's great for moving your feet. Never felt like this / Prayers have been answered / Memories I won't forget / Always blind to see / Your sweet, sweet loving, won't you put it on me? The lyrics tend to be repetitive, but overall, the song is very catchy.

 

4. Shout Out to My Ex

Little Mix

Little Mix has been killing the game in the UK, and I think they're over looked in the United States because of the popularity of Fifth Harmony. (I love Fifth Harmony, too. Don't come for me in the comments.) Despite this song being one everyone can relate to, I feel like Shout Out to My Ex is the pop anthem every girl needs in her life. We all know the story of Perrie Edwards (Little Mix) and Zayn Malik (One Direction.) They met on the UK version of The X Factor, fell in love, got engaged and dated for three years until he broke up with her. He quickly moved on to model Gigi Hadid, and they've been known as an "it" couple. While the group has not stated the song is directed towards Zayn, many fans believe he helped inspire the lyrics. Jesy, Perrie, Leigh-Anne and Jade have stated that the song represents all of their past relationships. Perrie opens the song with, This is a shout out to my ex / Heard he in love with some other chick / Yeah yeah, that hurt me, I'll admit / Forget that boy, I'm over it. Her raspy and powerful voice paired with the rhythm of the tune can give you chills. For the music video, the group filmed most of it in the desert. That paired with their killer outfits gives me serious Coachella vibes.

 

5. Issues

Julia Michaels

Issues is the debut single from up-and-coming singer Julia Michaels. As of now, it is number 7 on iTunes. When I first heard this song, I was at work, and someone was playing it from their Spotify. I remembered saying to myself that it sounded like a good song, but I eventually forgot about it. Fast forward a couple of weeks later, and I hear it again. It became a song that surpassed my three phases, and that's when I knew I was obsessed. 'Cause I got issues / But you got 'em too / So give 'em all to me / And I'll give mine to you. Let's face it. We all have issues, and Julia is just pointing that out.

 

6. Stay

Zedd & Alessia Cara

Zedd is back again, this time with Alessia Cara, to create Stay. The three minutes and 30 second single opens with humming from Alessia before singing the first verse. Waiting for the time to pass you by / Hope the winds of change will change your mind. The combination of Alessia's soulful voice and Zedd's amazing beats makes you want to dance along. Trust me, you're not ready for the beat drops in this one. The song continues, and at the very end it fades with the same humming from the beginning. If you listen to it on repeat like I do, you won't realize when the song starts over until you hear Alessia's voice again.

 

7. Shape of You

Ed Sheeran

After a three-year hiatus, Ed Sheeran came back with ÷ (divide.) While Ed released an entire album, Shape of You is one of two released as the lead singles. The song has an island feel, and it's something Ed has never produced before. He stated in an interview for a radio show that he had Rihanna in mind when he wrote it. The song has been a hit in the United States, with it currently being number six on iTunes. The club isn't the best place to find a lover / So the bar is where I go / Me and my friends at the table doing shots / Drinking fast and then we talk slow. Ed Sheeran is an extremely talented musician. Shape of You is an amazing single that's hard not to sing and dance along to. Ed does it again.

 

8. Location

Khalid

Let's slow it down a bit. Location is the debut single from Khalid off of his debut album American Teen. Khalid stated the beat reminded him of the first stage of a relationship. Send me your location / Let's focus on communicating 'cause / I just need the time and place to come through. The mix of R&B and soul and the soothing sound of his voice makes this single one you can chill and relax to. At only 19 years old, I think Khalid has a successful career ahead of him.

 

9. Mercy

Shawn Mendes

Awh. Shawn Mendes – the one who never disappoints. Mercy is a single from his second studio album, Illuminate. Similar to Stay (see above) Shawn starts off with humming. You've got a hold of me / Don't even know your power / I stand a hundred feet / But I fall when I'm around you. It continues, lasting three minutes and 29 seconds. I have been a fan of Shawn since he started doing covers on Vine (RIP.) Since Life of the Party, he has continued to get better and better. Like Uncle Jesse on Full House used to say, "Have mercy!" And you should have Mercy on your playlist.

 

1 0. That's What I Like

Bruno Mars

Bruno Mars did it again. From his third studio album 24K Magic, Bruno brings the funk with That's What I Like following the success of his first single of the same name of the album. It's currently number one on iTunes. Personally, I like this better than 24K Magic (single). It still has the same upbeat, hip hop feel, but this one takes the cake. Jump in the Cadillac / (Girl let's put some miles on it) / Anything you want / (Just to put a smile on you) / You deserve it baby, you deserve it all / And I'm gonna give it to you. I feel like anything Bruno Mars creates would be a hit, and that's the case for this song.

 

1 1. Caroline

Aminé

Caroline is the debut single from up-and-coming hip hop artist Aminé. If you're not a fan of curse words, I recommend listening to the clean version. The 22-year-old artist stated he had intentions of making this song the modern day Billie Jean. The single went double platinum in the United States. If you want to jam along to something in your car, I recommend this song. Listen man / I heard you done got you a dime piece, man / Hell naw, man / One of the Beyoncé, Meagan Good types. Props for mentioning Queen B.

 

bottom of page