top of page

PRODUCT REVIEW: COLOURPOP ULTRA MATTE LIPSTICK


I've never been one to order makeup products online –– especially if it's a product I've never tried before. I'd much rather drive to a cosmetic store or a drug store, so I can look at the different options and not have to pay for shipping.

Recently, I made an exception. I decided to try ColourPop's Ultra Matte Lipstick. Of course, I had to do some research first. ColourPop was founded in 2014 in Oxnard, California, and the company has stated that it doesn't test its products on animals. The product received a lot of praise from people I know and the comment section of its website, but I wasn't completely convinced. I watched several YouTube videos reviewing this product, and all were positive.

One of my main reasons for wanting to watch reviews on YouTube was because I wanted to see how the different shades would look with my skin complexion. The website insinuates that the product's shades work for people of all skin tones and even provides photos with the arms of different women and samples of each shade on their arms. (It's a beauty thing. To know if a shade works best for your skin complexion, it's best to test the product on the back of your arm or wrist.)

The Ultra Matte Lipstick is offered in at least 43 different shades. What's the best part? Each one is only $6. Yes, you read that correctly. Each one is only $6. Compared to other high-end brands, this is a great deal. The delivery time shocked me because I received my order within less than a week. Coming all the way from California to Tuscaloosa, Alabama, I thought it would at least take a week and a half.

When I received my order, I felt like a kid on Christmas. I ordered the shades of "Beeper" (the shade I'm holding and wearing in

the photo above) and "Tulle."

Although I was excited about the lipsticks, it wasn't my favorite part of the order. Inside the package, I found a note from the company (see right) that stated, "Hey love, You're amazing and there's no butts about it!" which was placed next to a photo of an elephant butt. For those who know me, there are three things that I enjoy:

1. Anything that can make me laugh.

2. Elephants because they're my favorite animal and, of course, because I go to The University of Alabama (Roll Tide.)

AND

3. Anything that's a pun or a play on words.

As I read this note, I felt like I bought this product in the store instead of online. I think this was an amazing idea from the company to connect with its buyers and to make them feel good about themselves. I've always been a fan of inspirational quotes and sayings, so opening my package and seeing that note truly made my day.

Overall, I'm satisfied with my purchase. The colors make me feel confident. The company provides variety. It's long-lasting and never fades. The only suggestion I would make is to make sure your lips are exfoliated. Because it's a matte-based product, it has the tendency to dry out the lips, causing chapped skin. I plan to purchase more from ColourPop in the future.

bottom of page