top of page

MY TOP-12 FAVORITE SHOWS ON NETFLIX

As I mentioned in my bio, I believe Netflix is one of the best things invented since sliced bread. So I've compiled a list of recommended shows to watch on Netflix for when you need to laugh, get some inspiration or even when you want to escape the real world and watch someone else's. These shows are in no particular order (except for One Tree Hill –– it's my favorite.) I'll try my best to avoid any spoilers.

1. One Tree Hill (2003-2012)

Ah, One Tree Hill. This is by far my favorite show on Netflix. OTH follows the lives of half-brothers, Lucas and Nathan Scott, (as well as their group of friends) as they conquer the challenges of high school (and eventually adulthood) in the fictional town of Tree Hill, North Carolina. This show has humor and sports, but it also discusses important topics, such as suicide, LGBTQ+ rights, addiction, teen pregnancy, harassment, etc. Honestly, I could watch this show over and over without ever growing tired. (I actually have.) Every time I watch it, I fall in love with the characters even more. The show, sadly, aired its last episode in 2012 after nine seasons. If you don't sing along to show's theme song, "I Don't Wanna Be" by Gavin DeGraw, after the first couple of episodes, you're not a true fan.

2. Gossip Girl (2007-2012)

Gossip Girl follows the lives (literally) of Serena Van Der Woodsen and her friends as they live the glamorous and not-so-glamorous lives in the Upper East Side. Through this show, viewers see that the lives of the elite are not so glamorous at all. Gossip Girl, an anonymous blogger spills the secrets of the Upper East Siders, and no one seems to know the true identity of GG. I found this show to be a guilty pleasure of mine because I was so invested in finding out the mysterious blogger's identity. The show has drama and important issues and makes you secretly wish you lived in the Upper East Side. GG aired its last episode in 2012 after six seasons. When I found out GG's identity, I was angry and slightly confused, but, of course, that was GG's plan all along. "Who am I? That's a secret I'll never tell. XOXO, Gossip Girl."

3. How I Met Your Mother (2005-2014)

How I Met Your Mother is one of the funniest TV shows I've ever seen. OK. Maybe only after FRIENDS (see below.) Future Ted Mosby spends ten years telling his children the story of how he met their mother. (Hence the title of the show.) Ted tells his children about the wild and unfortunate adventures he took with his friends, Marshall, Lily, Robin and Barney. If you're curious to find out the identity of Ted's wife and mother of his future children, you'll have to stick around for nine seasons. If you're wondering about the GIF above, that's Robin. You're welcome. Also FYI: You'll never look at a pair of red cowboy boots or a yellow umbrella the same ever again.

4. Friends (1994-2004)

"I'll be there for you, 'cause you're there for me too." If you need a really good laugh, I recommend watching an episode of FRIENDS. And then watch the entire series. The show follows the lives of Monica, Rachel, Phoebe, Joey, Chandler and Ross as they tackle their lives in New York City together. It's easily one of the most iconic television shows of the past two decades. I could watch the same episodes repeatedly and still laugh at the jokes as though it was my first time seeing it. The show lasted for 10 seasons and aired its finally episode in 2004. I don't know about you, but I wish I could have a cup of coffee from Central Perk and be a part of their group.

5. Friday Night Lights (2006-2011)

Friday Night Lights –– what we actually call high school football in the South. FNL takes place in the fictional town of Dillon, Texas, and focuses on the Dillon Panther football team. Coach Eric Taylor (swoon) becomes head coach of the Panthers and tries to lead the team to victory after a history of losses. FNL is one of my favorites because, like several of the other shows I mentioned, it discusses important topics such as racism, drugs, family values and peer pressure. With the high school and football team as a main focus, it reminds me so much of my high school days. Whether its the high school level, college or professional –– the South loves its football. Although my school didn't have near as much drama as FNL, it was still fun to reminisce as I watched. The show lasted for five seasons and aired its final episode in 2011. Once you watch, you'll be saying "Texas forever" too.

6. That '70s Show (1998-2006)

That '70s Show –– the origin of the "burn" joke. That '70s Show takes place in the fictional town of Point Place, Wisconsin. It follows the lives of friends, Eric, Donna, Jackie, Kelso, Fez and Hyde during the decade that brought us the hippie, Star Wars and Richard Nixon as president. It contains inappropriate jokes at times, but its a great coming-of-age story. Viewers get a glimpse of baby-faced Ashton Kutcher and Mila Kunis before the married couple (with baby) that we all know today. I enjoyed this show because I was able to relate to the characters, and I laugh every time I watch it. Freeform (then ABC Family) would air reruns in the afternoons, so I would watch it every day after school. The show has eight seasons and aired its last episode in 2006. "Hello, Wisconsin!"

7. The Vampire Diaries (2009-present)

I know what you're thinking. This is just a typical Twilight-turned-television series with the same plot line and different actors. Nope. Well, it's similar but also very different. The Vampire Diaries takes place in the fictional town of Mystic Falls, Virginia, and centers around the lives of Elena Gilbert and her friends and family. Elena discovers the magical world, including the existence of vampires and how it's a part of her family history, while also dealing with the loss of her parents, boyfriend drama and school. The first six seasons are currently on Netflix, while season seven wrapped up on The CW back in May 2016. Season eight will air on television on Oct. 21, 2016. If you're interested in drama, love triangles and supernatural creatures, this is the show for you. If you're interested in more, TVD has a spin-off show, The Originals, which is also on Netflix. It has two seasons on Netflix with season three recently wrapping up back in May 2016. Season four will air on The CW in Jan. 2017.

8. Gilmore Girls (2000-2007) (2016)

The best mother-daughter relationship. The dynamic duo. Gilmore Girls takes place in the fictional town of Stars Hollow, Connecticut. Lorelai is the witty and sarcastic single-mother of Rory, who happens to be her equally witty and intelligent daughter. Lorelai had Rory at the age of 16, and the two have been inseparable ever since. Because they're more like best friends, the pair don’t have the typical mother-daughter relationship. I started watching the show on television during my fifth grade year and fell in love with it. I would re-watch the episodes every day when I came home from school. Lorelai and Rory's relationship makes me hope that I have the same type of relationship with my future daughter (whenever and if that happens). Gilmore Girls is a feel-good series that makes you laugh, cry and yell at your television. The show has seven seasons and aired its last episode in 2007. But there's more. Earlier this year, it was announced that the Gilmore Girls would return to Netflix for a four-part miniseries to air on Nov. 25, 2016. It is true: “Where you lead, I will follow.”

9. Grey's Anatomy (2005-Present)

"It's a beautiful day to save lives." Grey's Anatomy is one of those shows that once you watch one episode, you can't stop. It'll make you laugh, cry (mostly cry) and shout out "Shonda, why?!" GA is the first and most successful show to come from ShondaLand and its creator Shonda Rhimes. The show begins with Meredith Grey as she enters the residency program at the fictional Seattle Grace Hospital. The show follows Meredith and her friends (and fellow doctors) as they attempt to balance their personal lives and the lives of their patients. There are currently 13 seasons, with the first 12 seasons on Netflix. Season 13 airs on Thursdays on ABC. WARNING: I won't lie to you. There will be several deaths. Prepare yourself. It'll hit you like a truck and mess with your emotions.

1 0. Scandal (2012-present)

Scandal. The show that made women everywhere utter the phrase, "I want to be Olivia Pope." And I am one of those women. Scandal is also a successful show to come from ShondaLand. The political thriller follows the career of Olivia Pope –– White House staff member for President Fitzgerald Grant III and the face of crisis management firm, Olivia Pope & Associates. It shows the secrets behind the political scene and the, well, scandals that go along with it. I'm currently on season two, and I'm hooked. The show has five seasons which are all on Netflix. Season six will air on ABC in Jan. 2017.

1 1. Fuller House (2016-present)

I know. Many people strongly believe reboots are never as good as the original. Fuller House is the sequel to its original series, Full House. I grew up watching the show, and I loved it because it was a feel-good family show. It had humor, life lessons, and it showed viewers that a lot of families are embarrassing. However, Fuller House centers around the two oldest daughters of Danny Tanner, DJ Tanner (now Fuller. See that?) and Stephanie Tanner, as well as DJ's best friend, Kimmy Gibbler. (Don't even get me started on the lack of Michelle Tanner on this show. Really Mary-Kate and Ashley?) The ladies now live in Danny's old home and help DJ raise her three boys after the death of her husband. (Sounds familiar. They even have a golden retriever!) The show received backlash due to the characters' sexual innuendos, but in my opinion, I find nothing wrong with it. The characters have grown up and so have the show's audience. They're grown women and although, it still has the family aspect, it's not like the original show. Netflix debuted season one of the show back in Feb. 2016, and season two will debut on Dec. 9, 2016.

1 2. The Carrie Diaries (2013-2014)

The Carrie Diaries. The short-lived prequel to Sex and the City. The show focuses on high school junior, Carrie Bradshaw, as she enters the world of fashion at a magazine in New York City, while also keeping up with her life as a teenager. Young Carrie Bradshaw is basically everything I wish I could be after college. Minus the lying to her father and friends, and oh yeah, her boss. Unfortunately, the show only lasted for two seasons before its cancellation. "The one thing you have to remember about labels is that they only matter if you let them stick." - Carrie Bradshaw

bottom of page